What Are You Cleaning Your Records With?

Flea Market Funk

Clean RecordWhen I first started collecting records as a teen, one of my uncles gave me a vinyl cleaning brush. It had a spot on top where you put cleaning fluid on it, which cleaned the record when you brushed it across the dirty record. However, since he just gave me the brush, I thought that’s all you needed. Here I was brushing my records with the dirt that was stuck in the grooves. The joke was on me. As I got older, I trusted some other vinyl heads to pass on their knowledge of how to clean a record. Some of these have to be total bullshit, or maybe just file them under weird record collector stuff. These are actual suggestions from a variety of vinyl people, and while I am writing this, I still can’t believe people were doing this.

There was a dude I became friendly with…

View original post 478 more words

Leave a Reply

